Make It What It Needs To Be

Get Over It!

Stuck in a rut? Feeling uninspired? You are not alone! Earlier this year I created a poster called Get Over It! that addressed the issue of creative blocks and lack of motivation to create. In the months since I first shared the poster, I’ve heard from dozens of friends and colleagues who had a lot to say about the subject, and I figured it was time to bring up some more remedies.

When World-Building Becomes Unwieldy

Over the past nine months, I have been busy building the characters, plot and environments for my next graphic novel (coming very soon!). I’ve learned that I am very good at starting things, but I’m even better at leaving them unfinished. I had started 9 or 10 graphic novels before finally committing to and finishing Upside Down: A Vampire Tale, so please know that I have years and years of experience in this. Anyway, I have built this world into something that is nearly unwieldy. I had a breakdown of sorts last month, just feeling completely overwhelmed by the project, unable to find a place to start telling the story. It was absolutely crushing to think that I had just spent the better part of a year building something that I had no way of finishing, because it was too big for me to handle.

Make It What It Needs To Be

This is where today’s post comes in. After pages and pages of sketchbook doodles and miles and miles of pavement from afternoon walks behind me, I came to the realization that this book needs to be made. It’s what I have to offer right now, and that is worth something. All I have to do is make it what it needs to be.

MakeItWhatItNeedsToBe

It Works!

I am happy to say that, with “make it what it needs to be” as my motto, I am deeply involved in the production of my next graphic novel! I could not be more excited to share this story with you, but there is still more work to be done before I can post any pages. By thinking about the needs of the project, I’m able to shake off the weight of the whole and focus on making what I’m working on the best that it can be.

What have you done in your own life to Get Over It?

Are you facing a creative block ? Have you dealt with them in the past? What have you done to get over it? Post your thoughts below.

Leave a comment