WRITING ADVICE: THE GOOD, BAD & UGLY

Can you believe we’re already eight days into November? Crazy.

I’ve been participating in this year’s NaNoWriMo challenge to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November, and am well aware of today’s total word count goal of 13,333.  If I had been writing an average of 1,667 words per day, starting on November first, then I would be right on target. Today, however, I am playing catch up. I wasn’t able to start writing until five days into the event and then, somehow, my note cards (with all my important plot points and twists) vanished. I had to spend one of my writing days composing a good outline to work from, and now I’m sitting at just over 8,000 words.

In any case, if you’re on NaNoWriMo, then add me as a buddy so that we can keep each other going!

THE GOOD

As I’ve been participating in NaNoWriMo, I’ve been surrounded bombarded by writing advice of all kinds. Like most advice, it’s come without my asking for it (which is simply par for the course). I thought it would be fun to post a few things that I’ve seen floating around the internet recently: the good, the bad, and the ugly.

I love this quote from Benjamin Franklin:

BenFranklin

That’s good advice, right? Makes me want to focus on the quality of my writing and make it the best that it can be.

THE BAD

Okay–this is just hilarious, but would fall under the category of bad advice (my favorite is number 4):

WriteGood

THE UGLY

This is when bad advice goes beyond misinformation or naivete, and claims to be genuine fact. There are certain phrases that I hear or see that conjure the image of a conniving used car salesman. Things like:

SellUgh. This kind of thing makes me sick. If you’re writing only to sell books and to make big money, then drop the writing and go into politics. I’ve known too many good writers that have heard and believed things like “write what sells” and they’ve all stopped writing, because they got lost very quickly. When you take your message or ideas or passions or use of language or style out of the equation, there’s no longer a compelling need to write. And, to be perfectly honest, there’s no longer a reason to read. I don’t want to read these books and neither do you.

This is the ugly advice, because it is just nasty and wrong.

BEST WRITING ADVICE

What’s the best writing advice you’ve heard? Share it with us in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 112,071 Visitors since March 2011
