NIRVANA AND THE BEACH BOYS

Smells Like Beach Boys

Way back in high school I was listening to a local radio station playing in the background while I finished my homework. Out of nowhere, this mashup of Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit” and the Beach Boys’ “Sloop John B” came on the radio:

Isn’t that great?! I love how the smooth Beach Boys harmonies play against the jagged cuts from Nirvana’s grunge guitar. It’s something I haven’t been able to forget. Since joining SoundCloud a couple of weeks ago, I’ve found some really great sounds from all kinds of musicians, including unreleased songs from Sufjan Stevens, the mesmerizing flute of Hannah Sterry, and more great mashups from a user called Vaporware.

Some Favorites

Ben E Kings vs The Police:

Sufjan Stevens, Give a Little Love:

Hannah Sterry, Autumn’s Leaving:

Are You on SoundCloud?

If you’re on SoundCloud, get in touch and share your tunes. I’ve been working on a new album with a slew of new songs and I’ll be periodically dropping them into my account. I’d love to get your thoughts on a song or two and I’d love to hear what you’re up to, as well.

Comments
2 Responses to “NIRVANA AND THE BEACH BOYS”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] by My Chemical Romance – Guitar Lesson Pt.2 – How To Play Guitar TutorialNIRVANA AND THE BEACH BOYS var imwbvp_ajaxurl = 'http://www.guitarfretnotes.com/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php'; // ]]> […]



Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 114,319 Visitors since March 2011
