FIFTH GRADERS LIKE COMICS

THE ARTICLE

(Whoops! I hope the title of this post didn’t give away the ending.) Huffington Post columnist Dave Schedit recently interviewed a class of fifth graders about comics, where he asked questions like “What is it about comics that you like?” and “Is the story or art more important to you?” What follows is a series of candid responses, including this little nugget: “Comic books are very good to me. Possibly the best type of books people can make.” Well said!

KidsComics

THE PICTURE

I forgot to mention that the article includes a new illustration by yours truly (aka me!). I had a blast drawing this little fifth grader hanging out in his room and reading comics. I often feel like this boy when I’m drawing: surrounded by fun ideas and a world of possibilities.

Check out the article here!

BONUS MYSTERY

This illustration is not all it appears to be–it is actually a super-secret mysterious clue from beyond about my next book project. Can you guess what it might be? Use the comment section below to share your thoughts.

Comments
6 Responses to “FIFTH GRADERS LIKE COMICS”
  1. His room is full of so many cool things! I can see my 5 yr old son having a pet cactus, a violin, a bird and many other random yet awesome things like this! Because I totally have a 5 yr old son, I’ve just been keeping him as a surprise for the perfect moment. Surprised?
    That is what I love about your art, it always has such imaginative things thrown in just like eye-spy! The article was adorable and entertaining…. all in all, an awesome post today! loved it.

    Then again, you already knew I was going to say all this. My 5 yr old son told me you were psychic. Now it’s my turn to be surprised!

    • Jess Smart Smiley says:

      You’ve been hiding a 5 yr old son in your life? Wow. I don’t even know you anymore. I mean, I DID know you were going to say all of this, but I didn’t know it was true. Jeesh.

      You know, you’re actually not too far off from guessing my super-secret mysterious clue from beyond. You’re good!

  2. RoosterTree says:

    With this cartoon, you’ve summed up my tweens perfectly. Ah, nostalgia!

  3. Drew.Robbins says:

    Let me guess: your next book is going to be about a comics-loving fifth grader who has rich parents. Or has an extremely successful (albeit illegal) lemonade stand. Or lives in a thrift shop.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Fifth Graders Like Comics (jesssmartsmiley.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 116,251 Visitors since March 2011
