MICRO-ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Interesting article from Jamie Wong on the “creative class”, who run their own businesses and freelance. The article is called The Rise of the Micro-Entrepreneurship Economy and touches on the unique situation of freelance who use technology to communicate, distribute and create in the freelance world.

“What defines this new economy is that it’s built on the empowerment of individuals and the technology that enables this. It’s allowing individuals to create their own jobs. It’s a celebration of life and time, and a shift in perspective of money. Technology now provides an opportunity for people anywhere in the world to monetize their passions. And it’s not just the artists and under-employed flocking to these platforms, but professionals who seek a higher quality of life, greater flexibility, and more time with their families.”

While I thoroughly enjoyed my last position as Creative Director for a fantastic local company, it’s making my own books, illustrations, comics and designs that I really want to do. It’s what I’ve been doing for the last two-and-a-half years, and I absolutely love it. It’s an incredible thing to be able to acquire a job given to me from Australia, and then to complete the job and be paid for it in the same day! I love the freedoms that are available to me because of the available technology, and I love the trust and satisfaction that I get from clients who come to me looking for creative solutions in the form of paintings, designs, logos, portraits, album artwork, book covers, etc.

“New companies that empower individuals to become micro-entrepreneurs not only stimulate the economy by creating new revenue streams and disrupting outdated models of business, but provide individuals access to more fulfilling, rewarding, and authentic lives. As my late grandmother used to say: “Life is how you spend your time.”

Comments
4 Responses to “MICRO-ENTREPRENEURSHIP”
  1. verseun says:

    Is micro entrepreneurship being a free lancer ?

    ” It’s an incredible thing to be able to acquire a job given to me from Australia, and then to complete the job and be paid for it in the same day!”

    • Jess Smart Smiley says:

      Thanks for the comment, Verseun. Micro-entrepreneurship and freelancing aren’t the same thing, but I use micro-entrepreneurship in my freelancing as an illustrator/designer.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Micro-entrepreneurship (jesssmartsmiley.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Micro-entrepreneurship (jesssmartsmiley.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 114,191 Visitors since March 2011
