HELLO. MY NAME IS JESS SMART SMILEY & I MAKE RAD PICTURES.

For those of you who are new to this blog, or are trying to figure out who I am and what I do: this post is for you.

HELLO. MY NAME IS JESS SMART SMILEY & I MAKE RAD PICTURES.

Despite what my name might suggest (and ponytail in this photo), I’m a guy. It’s always exciting to see my name come up on a website, and to see people leaving comments like “she makes the cutest drawings,” and “her characters are so fun!” That’s cool. I can live with being female on the internet.

I’ve been drawing and writing my own pictures and stories since I was a kid. It’s all I’ve ever wanted to do, and every single day of my life, as far as I can remember it, has been focused on making the work I want to put into the world.

MY GRAPHIC NOVEL

I finally finished my first graphic novel (came up with the story and characters, made a rough draft, and created the final artwork) in 2010, and sent it to my favorite comics publisher, Top Shelf Productions. They loved it, we worked out a contract, and now my first book, Upside Down: A Vampire Tale, is available from book and comics stores everywhere, and from Top Shelf Productions.

The book is actually the first in a series and you can order it via the Top Shelf site.

MAKING PICTURES ROCKS!

I’ve worked hard to be able to make pictures in a variety of styles and media, and have been fortunate enough to have my work published and used in books, magazines, websites, clothing labels, logos, business cards, flyers, mobile games, a library card, wedding invitations, christmas cards, anniversary presents, framed wall art, album artwork, coloring books, posters, packaging, temporary tattoos, animations, storyboards, and portraits.

For me, making pictures is a way of learning and exploring. A picture is a place, not an object.

WHAT I’M UP TO NOW

I’m currently working on a second all-ages graphic novel, a words-only novel (historical fiction), designs for a clothing label, album artwork (you’re gonna love it!), a board game, a slew of portraits, and two children’s books. I’m also traveling and giving school, library, and bookstore presentations on writing and drawing. (Phew! I think I got it all in there.)

GET IN TOUCH

I love taking on commissions, so if you have an idea for a project, let’s make it together! Contact me at jess.smiley(at)gmail.com  My online portfolio can be viewed at jess-smiley.com

Comments
One Response to “HELLO. MY NAME IS JESS SMART SMILEY & I MAKE RAD PICTURES.”
  1. Heh – since you broach the topic, I must admit I initially thought that, too. Which makes me think of Iggy Pop:

    http://i1214.photobucket.com/albums/cc499/roostertree/SLUTWALK-FRANCE-2011.jpg (That’s direct link, b/c IDK if HTML or IMG tags are allowed.)

    I also, several years ago, made he same mistake with i am robot and proud’s Shaw-Han Liem. His name was foreign, & the music was just so pretty! Oops. Doesn’t change the quality of the art 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 116,271 Visitors since March 2011
