FREE BOOK GIVE-AWAY

Welcome, all new subscribers, and happy October! I’m giving away a copy of my comic, A Map in the Dirt, right here on the blog. All you have to do is leave a comment on any post between now and October 31. I’ll pick a comment at random and the winner will receive a copy of A Map in the Dirt.

“Smiley describes [A Map in the Dirt] as a “short story in comics form” and it is easy to see why. Rather than adopting the traditional panel and speech-bubble form entirely, A Map in the Dirt begins with pictures simply acting as loose illustration for Deer’s narration. Although the story eventually adopts a more traditional comic form, this opening section evokes comparisons to a lovingly-constructed children’s book from decades ago. I couldn’t help but think of dusty second hand 1970s picture-books whilst reading it; such is its charm.” -Martin Steenton, Avoid the Future

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subscribers: leave a comment between now and October 31 for your chance to win! I’ll pick a comment at random and mail the winner a copy of my short story in comics form, A Map in the Dirt.

Comments
18 Responses to “FREE BOOK GIVE-AWAY”
  1. This book looks fantastic! Consider me interested.

    b

  2. Caitlin Murphy says:

    ahh, I love this! it is simply beautiful. I’d love to have a new addition to my tiny library 🙂

  3. Nick says:

    Oh boy, this looks terrific. Excited for your Top Shelf book as well. Keep on keepin’ on.

    • Jess Smart Smiley says:

      Nick, I’m going to be putting up a few posts on the making of Upside Down: A Vampire Tale. Let me know if there’s anything you’d like to know/see!

  4. Mitch says:

    How do I not have a copy already?!

  5. sara says:

    Look at that artwork and penmanship! I am enchanted!

  6. Scritch says:

    Me me me pick me pretty please!

    The illustrations are lovely
    x

  7. Rick Judd says:

    this looks like a great mix of B.C. and Pearls Before Swine/Over The Hedge. my favorite comic strips.

    good luck to whoever wins the copy!

  8. Lukas Sprehn says:

    This comic’s title seem very interesting. A good first impression 😀

    I can’t wait to get to read it man haha, and the art looks great.

  9. Luke Stebbing says:

    Looks great! I’d love a copy so heres a comment. Fingers crossed!

  10. I appreciate you sharing this blog article.Really thank you! Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 123,858 Visitors since March 2011
