DESIGN BUSINESS TIPS

I’m at an interesting point in my life right now. While I can’t get into the juicy details via this blog, I can say that there are some exciting projects underway and that I’m learning a lot of new skills I’ve been wanting to dive into for years now.

These projects, while still very time-intensive and demanding in all the right ways, are allowing me more time to think more thoroughly through the things I’m working on. I like that. It can be really difficult for me getting a project today that needs to be finished by Thursday, because I enjoy spending time with the things I’m working on. I like getting to know the nature of what I’m doing, then spending time with the content and finding my own voice within the given constraints. All too often, however, it’s at this point in the process when the project is due and I have to pass it along and move on without ever really saying “goodbye” to the work I was just getting to know.

One of my lifelong goals is to make the work I want at my own pace while making money, without it being about the money. By the end of the year I should have a good idea as to whether these projects fit as well into that goal long-term as they do right now.

This morning I came across this list of Mike Dempsey‘s Design Business Tips and it echoes a lot of the thoughts I have about my own creative endeavors. I talk a lot about the importance of “play” in projects and how crucial it is to keep or make a project “fun”—an idea that is widely accepted in word, but largely condemned in action—and I’m glad to see that Mike has included “retain a sense of fun” in his list.

=============================================================================================================

For anyone that has been following this blog, I have to apologize for all of the recent self-promotion posts, mostly with all the Conan drawings. Team Coco drove a lot of traffic to my site and I felt like I should have something for them to check out. Maybe not the best response I could have given.

It’s all over now, and we can get back to exploring creative processes and people. Finally!

Comments
One Response to “DESIGN BUSINESS TIPS”
  1. Loz says:

    I really like this list. I had to search what coalface was but I like the exude enthusiasm and absorb all influences.

Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 117,153 Visitors since March 2011
