WILL DRAW FOR COCO (UPDATE)

For nearly three months now I have been drawing a portrait of the late night talk show host Conan O’Brien—one for each and every single episode of his show since May 15. To date I have made 62 pictures of our friend Coco and plan on drawing a new portrait, each episode, until this October (just 54 calendar days left!).

Why would a person do such a thing? Why Conan O’Brien? Why? Why? Why?!

Well, in case you haven’t listened to the newest episode of Deconstructing Comics (with Tim Young), or if you haven’t been following the Will Draw for Coco blog, I’ll tell you. My first graphic novel, Upside Down: A Vampire Tale, comes out this fall from Top Shelf Productions and I thought it would be fun to try and get on the Conan O’Brien Show. He’s a funny guy, I dig ‘im, and I think he’d be into geeking out about comics. Plus, I have a bunch of ideas for things we could do on the show. I know, it sounds like he’d be achingย to get me on the show, right? Well, I’m not one to beg, so I thought that, rather than spamming all of the known Conan sites with pleas to get invited as a guest on the show, I’d offer Conan something in return—pictures. Namely, pictures of Conan.

It started out as a kind of joke, but it’s taken off and there’s been an outpouring of support for the project. It’s even been mentioned on sites like MTV Geek, Earth 616ย and Comic Book Resources.

While I still haven’t gotten a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ from Conan or his staff, I’ve been informed that Team Coco knows about the project and is aware of what I’m doing. I’m hoping that the next two months of drawings will be able to push Team Coco over the edge to get Upside Down: A Vampire Tale a spot on the Conan show!

Comments
4 Responses to “WILL DRAW FOR COCO (UPDATE)”
  1. Alice says:

    Good luck. I hope your persistence pays off.

  2. Anita Howard says:

    Haha! You are brilliant! What a great idea. I hope it happens for you, Jess! Your art is wonderful, BTW. You really have a talent. Looking forward to seeing that vampire graphic novel. ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on its publication.

    • Jess Smart Smiley says:

      Thanks, Anita. That’s really kind of you to say ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve always loved telling stories and drawing pictures, and graphic novels just make sense for me.

Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 113,077 Visitors since March 2011
