MY MANUSCRIPT

For anyone that’s been following my novel-in-the-works, I have exciting news: I’VE FINISHED MY ROUGH DRAFT! Hooray! Three months of writing, 232 pages typed, and 127,000 words written. Phew!

Since finishing, I’ve been drawing like crazy, and planning out my next projects, trying to get my mind off of my novel, so that I can look at it again with fresh eyes. So, here it goes. My wife and I printed out a copy the other day and I’ve started reading. I’m reading for big picture stuff. I’m keeping a handful of questions in the back of my mind as I read. Does it make sense? Do I follow-through on storylines and subplots? Are the characters consistent? Is the language appropriate? Things like that. I don’t want to over-analyze the writing, and I don’t want to judge it. I’m noticing what’s been written. I’m making little notes as they come to me, but am mostly reading at this point.

Already I can feel the weight of what I’m up against. The work that still needs to be done. It’s encouraging, though, to know that it’s all been written and I just have to refine it. I read somewhere that writing a novel is like driving at night. The headlights show the road, but only so many feet in front of you. It’s by looking those few feet at a time that you are finally able to arrive.

I’ve always wanted to write a novel, always had ideas for books and stories, but it’s taken me until now to finish a rough draft. With the help of a few friends and a supportive wife, I feel my like headlights will be enough to see me through the next step.

Comments
7 Responses to “MY MANUSCRIPT”
  1. blueghoul says:

    Congrats on finishing, and best of luck with editing!

    • Jess Smart Smiley says:

      Thanks a ton! That really means a lot to me, especially since I’ve started the editing and can feel what I’m up against. If the book turns out even half as good as your drawings, then I’ll have no complaints 🙂

  2. Woot! 67000, huh? Let me know if you want exchange beta reads in the future 🙂 Feels great doesn’t it!

    • Jess Smart Smiley says:

      Definitely. I’m going to go over the whole book like I’ve said, and then make the big picture changes so everything makes sense. I’d love to trade at that point and tighten everything up. I’m pretty merciless when it comes to editing my work, so I really welcome any feedback and am excited to finally read your story. I’ll let you know when I’ve finished.

  3. Jennie B says:

    Strange, my first comment didn’t post. Anyway I just said congrats and If you need a beta reader I would be more than happy to exchange 🙂

  4. Alice says:

    Hurray! That’s a big accomplishment. Now comes the fun part. Revising.

Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 123,955 Visitors since March 2011
