ANIMATION INSTRUCTION

I know for a fact that there are some animators and animation students that check out this blog every now and then, so I thought I’d post this link to Preston Blair’s book of animation basics online (the working links are below the post, in the Index of Articles).

My city library had a copy of the book when I was growing up and I loved spending hours and hours drawing his characters and figures. Crazy to know that it’s all available online for free now.

I’m curious: how many other cartoonists/writers/artists/pencil-pushers/doodlers out there are got into drawing/writing on their own and started teaching themselves? How many of you had an interest, but didn’t start learning until you got into school? Hmm…

Comments
2 Responses to “ANIMATION INSTRUCTION”
  1. Mitch says:

    I absolutely love that book! Have you read Richard Williams’ “The Animator’s Survival Kit”? It’s an excellent resource on the subject.

    • Jess Smart Smiley says:

      Yes! It’s really great. I think a lot of people overlook these books, because the characters seem so dated, but it comes from the golden age of traditional animation and is packed with solid information and direction. I guess there’s a 16 disc DVD set of the Survival Kit now.

Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 117,087 Visitors since March 2011
