WEB COMICS PROCESS

A few days ago I came across this fun look into Darrell’s process for making his web comic, Sticks and Bones.

It’s always interesting to me to see how creators’ processes can be so similar sometimes, and so vastly different at others. This overview seems pretty standard, but it’s a good reminder of how important it is to start with thumbnailing your idea to get the best finished comic.

I remember back in high school, when I’d start a drawing—if I messed up at all, I’d have to throw the paper away and start over on a new sheet of paper. Most of the time I’d never even finish my drawing, because I couldn’t get it right. When I did finish, there would still be so many problems with the drawing that I’d still want to throw it away!

If I could have learned back then to thumbnail and work everything out in a sketch first, I would have finished so many more drawings and my pictures and comics today would be leaps and bounds beyond what they are!

In other news: I made an offer to send out a free drawing to new subscribers, but no one has signed up in the last week! I’ll still be giving away artwork and drawings in the future, though, so keep an eye out for the goods.

Comments
4 Responses to “WEB COMICS PROCESS”
  1. alicebeesley says:

    I signed up as a new subscriber this week! The creative process for art seems very similar to writing. Pre-plannng with thumbnails and outlines help you end up with a better product in the end.

  2. Jess Smart Smiley says:

    Oops! My bad, Alice—somehow your subscription didn’t show up until last night. I’ll message you about getting a picture šŸ™‚ Thanks!

  3. Jess,
    Thanks so much for using my strip as an example. I blush!!

    • Jess Smart Smiley says:

      Thanks for making such a great example! I’ve been trying to share high-quality pictures to show different parts of creative processes. I came across your page and had to share it!

Leave a Reply

  • VISITORS

    • 115,233 Visitors since March 2011
